June is here already??!!

Hello Friends,

Another month is here. I still feel like it’s the beginning of May. Who’s with me?? And today was a hot one in Houston, but what’s new about that. Today was a usual day, it just started way too early after a later than usually night thanks to the superstars Nannie and Poppy.

One of the neat things about living in Houston is a great community for space, as in outerspace…NASA.   The kids got to witness first hand the new shuttle trainer that will be housed at Space Center Houston. Pretty awesome sight. Wish I could have seen it.

Well, today was my 5am bootcamp day at the “Y”. Substitute teacher today took it easy on us, guess he was still sleepy too. 🙂

Breakfast today was a disaster. I was trying to make banana-nut pancakes from Self.com. I was doubling the recipe for me and my man, but guess the pancakes had other ideas. Ultimately, the pancakes turned into a quinoa scramble but wasn’t too bad, it was edible thanks to sugar-free syrup on top. Gotta try this one again.

AM snack was pomegranate Chobani.  Have to say not my favorite flavor. The little seeds were distracting and stuck in my tooth for a while.

Lunch was a yummy mixed greens salad with tuna. I added extra veggies from the hospital cafeteria today. I used an olive oil vinaigrette. The strawberries on the side were extra sweet. This made for a side and dessert. 🙂

PM snack was simple. Whole wheat bread and peanut butter.

Dinner tonight was freakin’ awesome. We had fish tacos.  I made a refreshing cabbage slaw salad with avocados to go in the taco’s. Black beans to finish it off for some creaminess. Todd grilled the fish for us and chicken breast for the kids. The kids haven’t caught on to the fish fare but I still try to serve it frequently so it becomes more familiar to them. Also, the kids enjoyed being independent, they got to create their own taco from the assortment of toppings.

For dessert, I enjoyed an episode of Downton Abbey (Thank you Netflix). Wow, I can’t get enough of this show. 😀

Here’s to the weekend,

Lacy

Posted on June 2, 2012, in Kid Nutrition, Today's Eats, Workout and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

